Celine Clanet


Celine Clanet

Celine Clanet’s Maze is a study of a Lapland village that seems to derive its livelihood from reindeer. I can’t remember enough of my high school French to decipher the statement, but Google tells me part of it says:

I spent several months in Maze. I met people silent, sometimes melancholy, engaging, very proud of their village and their land… I have seen the ravages of acculturation, this soft genocide that use the mind and souls drowned in alcohol or negation of self.

There’s also a short interview from last week on Nymphoto.

~ by Jin on July 22, 2009.

One Response to “Celine Clanet”

  1. “The negation of the self”. Powerful stuff. I suppose urbanites are always going to be fascinated with life on the margins.

    Emily Hyperion Dubuisson’s “Siberia: The Far North” is another case n point.

    http://www.emilehyperiondubuisson.com/

Leave a Reply

 
