being your own editor

Today I just have a question: how does a photographer become a better editor of his or her own work?

It’s a tricky skill to learn, especially for someone starting out without a strong network of working photographers. You can learn almost anything technical by searching online, but editing is not a skill you can really pick up since portolios and features contain only the finished edit, without much hint of the working process.

I am finding it very difficult, as I suppose many people must, to edit from an ongoing project in a timely manner. I don’t know which instinct to trust – the immediate reaction, or the delayed reaction after, say, two weeks have passed, or, the very delayed reaction after months or years have passed. I’m looking forward to getting back to school and sharing contact sheets with people.

~ by Jin on May 11, 2009.

One Response to “being your own editor”

  1. I am a self taught photographer, with absolutely no contacts with anyone who you’d call an ‘art’ photographer. For me, all aspects of project based photography seems more difficult without feedback or a core group of people you can show your work to. I guess I prefer to work alone, as it’s the only way I know- but making those connections, I imagine, would be a huge boon to a photographer and the editing process. I hope when you get those connections when you go back to school- sure wish that I had them!

    Cheers..

Leave a Reply

 
